Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore

The Royal Challengers Bangalore is a franchise cricket team from India which was established in the year 2008. The franchise is currently owned by Vijay Mallya and is coached by Ray Jennings. The team’s home ground is the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium which has a seating capacity of around 55,000. The team is famous for their batting displays and has tasted success in recent years in the Indian Premier League and did well the the Champions League..

The Challengers began their T20 saga in 2008 but were largely disappointing as they finished that season in 7th place. With just 4 wins from their 14 games it was clear that the team was not quite up to par. The only batsman who played well for the Royal Challengers that season was Rahul Dravid who ended up being the lone resistance in many of their matches.

The 2009 season saw a vast improvement in fortunes and form for the Royal Challengers Banglalore. They played competitively throughout the Indian Premier League and were rewarded with a 3rd place finish in the points table and became runners up through the player-offs as they lost in the finals to the Deccan Chargers. Anil Kumble was the best of the lot for the Royal Challengers that season as he finished with 21 wickets in his 16 matches with an economy rate of under 6 per over. The teams efforts also got them a slot in the inaugural T20 Champions League tournament. And they did much better in the competition than the other two teams from India that qualified for the Champions League getting past the group stages but eventually getting knocked out in the League stage.

In 2010, the Royal Challengers continued their good form from last year in the Indian Premier League, winning 7 matches and qualifying for the IPL play-offs thanks to their healthy net run-rate. However, this year they only managed to finish 3rd in the play-offs but that was enough to book themselves another place in the Champions League T20. The Challengers did very will in the T20 Champions league of 2010, getting victories over strong opponents to get past the group stage and into the semi-finals. But in the semi-finals they were beaten by the fellow Indian franchise, the Chennai Super Kings, who eventually went on to win the T20 Champions League.

And in the recently concluded 2011 season, the Challengers upped their game even further in the Indian Premier League as they finished on top of the table in terms of points and became runners up in the play-offs losing in the finals to the Chennai Super Kings. Chris Gayle was by far the pick of the players for the Challengers as he finished with amazing stats of 608 runs in just 12 matches with 2 centuries and 3 fifties along with an average of 67.55. Chris continued his good form into the T20 Champions League of 2011 as the Royal Challengers marched right thought the group stages and semi-finals and into their first ever final. But sadly the team lost that game to the Mumbai Indians and finished runners up in the T20 Champions League 2011.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore are led by the veteran Kiwi spinner Daniel Vettori. The team is based in Bangalore and receive a lot of support from all parts of the World. With strong performances in the last 3 seasons and a squad filled with talented players at their disposal, the Royal Challengers Bangalore are definitely a team to watch-out for in all future T20 competitions.


Royal Challengers Bangalore Roster


  • 14 Mayank Agarwal
  • 02 Mohammad Kaif
  • — Luke Pomersbach
  • 03 Cheteshwar Pujara
  • — Rilee Rossouw
  • 15 Saurabh Tiwary
  • — Jonathan Vandiar


All Rounders

  • 11 Daniel Vettori (Captain)
  • 18 Virat Kohli (Vice-Captain)
  • — Raju Bhatkal
  • 23 Tillakaratne Dilshan
  • 333 Chris Gayle
  • 07 Asad Pathan
  • 29 Johan van der Wath



  • — Sarfaraz Ashraf
  • 37 Sreenath Aravind
  • — Bharath BN
  • — Abrar Kazi
  • 34 Zaheer Khan
  • — Charl Langeveldt
  • — Abhimanyu Mithun
  • 63 Dirk Nannes
  • — Ryan Ninan
  • — Nuwan Pradeep
  • — Rajat Sharma
  • 08 Syed Mohammad
Wicket Keeper

  • 17 AB de Villiers
  • — CM Gautam
  • — Arun Karthik


Support Staff

  • Captain: Daniel Vettori
  • Vice-Captain: Virat Kohli
  • Head Coach: Ray Jennings
  • Bowling Coach: Venkatesh Prasad
  • Assistant Head Coach: Sanath Kumar
  • Physiotherapist: Evan Speechly
  • Mentor : Anil Kumble
  • CEO: Brijesh Patel
  • Manager: Avinash Vaidya
  • Masseur: Ramesh Mane
  • Team Analyst: Prassana Agoram
  • Head Strength And Conditioning Coach : Basu S


Leave a Reply