Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals

The Rajasthan Royals are an Indian T20 cricket franchise which was formed in the year 2008. The franchise is primarily owned by Manoj Badale along with some other investors and is based in Jaipur. The home stadium of the Rajasthan Royals is the Sawai Mansingh Stadium with a seating capacity of around 30,000. The franchise was briefly terminated by the BCCI for a violation in 2010 but was later allowed to participate in the Indian Premier League after the BCCI lost the case in the Supreme Court.

The Rajasthan Royals started their journey with most of the other T20 teams in India in the 2008 Indian Premier League. And after a month of intense cricket, the Rajasthan Royals finished on top of the table in terms of points and even won the play-offs of that inaugural Indian Premier League. Captain Shane Warne was by far the pick of the players for the Rajasthan Royals, leading both in terms of runs scored and wickets taken.

After a brilliant opening season for the Rajasthan Royals, they were rather disappointing in the 2009 season finishing at 6th place in the Indian Premier League with just 6 wins in their 14 games. Inconsistency from all the regulars played a major part in their poor showing in this years edition of the Indian Premier League. This also meant that they did not qualify for the inaugural T20 Champions League which took place on that very year.

The 2010 season was just as disappointing as the last one, with the team finishing at an even lower position then last season, at no. 7. The fans and the players must have been very disappointed with another dismal effort in the Indian Premier League, but it is clear that the off-field controversies that surrounded the club this season played a major part in their dismal showing at the Indian Premier League.

And the recently concluded 2011 season saw some improved performances from the Rajasthan Royals as the finished 6th among 10 teams. They only won 6 games in the end but played well in all their matches. Most people agree that this was the most intense year for the Indian Premier League so that should be taken into account when accessing the Rajasthan Royals performance.

Since winning the inaugural Indian Premier League, it has all been going south for the Rajasthan Royals as they haven’t even managed to qualify for a single T20 Champions League. And with captain Shane Warne coming close to retiring, the future does not look very bright for the Rajasthan Royals. Still, with all of Jaipur behind them, the Rajasthan Royals will be looking to fight hard and perform better in their future T20 encounters.


Rajasthan Royals Roster


  • 29 Swapnil Asnodkar
  • 07 Aakash Chopra
  • 19 Rahul Dravid
  • 24 Faiz Fazal
  • 06 Ajinkya Rahane
  • — Dinesh Salunkhe
  • 08 Ross Taylor

All Rounders

  • 84 Stuart Binny
  • 22 Johan Botha
  • 28 Ankeet Chavan
  • 05 Paul Collingwood
  • 01 Ashok Menaria
  • — Sumit Narwal
  • 03 Jacob Oram
  • 02 Abhishek Raut
  • 33 Shane Watson
Wicket Keepers

  • 25 Amit Paunikar
  • — Pinal Shah
  • 77 Dishant Harendra Yagnik


  • 23 Shane Warne (Captain)
  • 21 Deepak Chahar
  • 72 Aditya Dole
  • 42 Nayan Doshi
  • 44 Samad Fallah
  • 20 Amit Singh
  • 91 Pankaj Singh
  • 32 Shaun Tait
  • 37 Siddharth Trivedi



  • Director of Coaching: Darren Berry
  • Performance Coach: Jeremy Snape
  • Team Manager: Sushil Tulaskar
  • Physiotherapist: John Gloster






Leave a Reply