Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians are a franchise established in the year 2008 for the T20 cricket format. The team is owned by one of the biggest conglomerates in India, Reliance Industries, and is rated as the 3rd most valuable franchise in the Indian Premier League. As the team is based in the big city of Mumbai, the Mumbai Indians have more than 1 home ground and the biggest of the lot is the DY Patil Stadium with a seating capacity of around 55,000. The team is regarded as one of the best in the country, and their recent results in the T20 competitions reflect it.

In 2008, the Mumbai Indians were part of the inaugural Indian Premier League and they did fairly well, finishing 5th in the competition. Janath Jayasuriya and Shaun Pollock did well with the bat and ball respectively, but it was still not enough as the team only managed to win just half of their games.

The 2009 season was a much more miserable experience for the Mumbai Indians as they only managed to win 5 of their 14 games and finished just above the Kolkata Knight Riders who were at the bottom of the table. Poor batting displays from the Mumbai Indians were largely to blame for their bad season as Harbajan Singh and Lasith Malinga bowled well despite little support from the rest of the players.

The 2010 season saw a remarkable rise from the ashes by the Mumbai Indians, playing exceptionally well to win 10 of their 14 games and finishing at the top of the table Indian Premier League and getting the runners up title in the play-offs. Captain Sachin Tendulkar was the main reason for their great showing in this years Indian Premier League, as he scored 618 runs at an average of just over 47 runs per innings. Their performance in the Indian Premier League meant that they had now qualified for the T20 Champions League for the first time. But they could not continue their good for in the Champions League as they lost 2 of their 4 games and ended up being knocked out at the group stages.

And in the recently concluded 2011 season, the Mumbai Indians did well again in the Indian Premier League as they finished 3rd in terms of points and in the play-offs. This meant that they had now qualified for the Champions League for the 2nd time and, unlike last year, they performed brilliantly in the competition. They blazed right through the group stages and the semi-finals and into the final. And after a well fought final with the Royal Challengers Bangalore it was the Mumbai Indians who emerged victories and won the T20 Champions League of 2011.

The Mumbai Indians are now one of the biggest franchises in India and all signs point to the team rising even further in the near future. With all of India behind them and a squad filled with talented young players and experienced world class cricketers, the sky is the limit for the Mumbai Indians.



  • 10 Sachin Tendulkar (Captain)
  • 06 Aiden Blizzard
  • 88 Sarul Kanwar
  • 45 Rohit Sharma
  • 02 Tirumalasetti Suman
  • 91 Suryakumar Yadav


All Rounders

  • 07 James Franklin
  • 21 Moises Henriques
  • 55 Kieron Pollard
  • 23 Rajagopal Sathish
  • 63 Andrew Symonds



  • 56 Yuzvendra Chahal
  • 26 Dilhara Fernando
  • 03 Harbhajan Singh
  • 30 Dhawal Kulkarni
  • 99 Lasith Malinga
  • 33 Ali Murtaza
  • 14 Abu Nechim
  • 13 Munaf Patel
  • 77 Raymond Price
  • 69 Pawan Suyal
  • 75 Clint McKay

Wicket Keepers

  • 82 Davy Jacobs
  • 09 Ambati Rayudu
  • 34 Aditya Tare



  • DirectorTA Sekhar
  • Captain – Sachin Tendulkar
  • Coach – Robin Singh
  • Assistant Coach – Paras Mhambrey
  • Mentor – Shaun Pollock
  • Fielding – Jonty Rhodes
  • Batting Consultant – Lance Klusener
  • Physio – Nitin Patel
  • Fitness Trainer – Ramji Srinivasan
  • Performance Analyst – Dhananjai CKM
  • Masseur – Donald Shugg


Leave a Reply