Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

The Chennai Super Kings are a franchise T20 cricket team which is currently owned by India Cements. The franchise was founded in the year 2008 and are based in the Chennai region with their home stadium being the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium.

In the short history of the Indian Premier League and the Champions League so far, the Chennai Super Kings are the most successful team of this format in all of India. They have won the Indian Premier League twice already and have also won the Champions League back in 2010. They did well in the inaugural Indian Premier League which was in the year 2008, but after some inconsistent performances they lost in the semi-finals against the Kings XI Punjab by 9 wickets. Still the Super Kings fans must have been very happy as they finished 3rd in the league.

In the next season, the Chennai Super Kings again managed to qualify for the play-offs in the Indian Premier League but again lost out in the semi-finals, thus failing to qualify for the first ever Champions League T20 tournament. But they did a little better then their first season as they finished second in the Indian Premier League.

It was in the 2010 season that the Chennai Super Kings finally managed to win the Indian Premier League, playing well throughout the tournament and winning the final against the Mumbai Indians by 22 runs. They continued their great form in the T20 Champions League managing to win the competition with Murali Vijay and Ravichandran Ashwin on song. This was the first time an Indian team managed to win the Champions League T20 competition.

And last season, the Chennai Super Kings managed to win the Indian Premier League for the second season in a row after comfortably beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals. But unlike last season, the 2011 T20 Champions League tournament was a rather disappointing one for the Chennai Super Kings as they did not manage to get past the group stages of the competition.

The Chennai Super Kings are currently led by the inspiration Indian captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni. And with a squad filled with great players from across the world along with a lot of local talents, it wouldn’t surprise anyone if they remain the most successful franchise in India for years to come.



Chennai Super Kings Roster


  • 33 Subramaniam Badrinath
  • 05 George Bailey
  • 48 Michael Hussey
  • 90 Abhinav Mukund
  • 03 Suresh Raina
  • 77 Anirudha Srikkanth
  • 35 Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas
  • 08 Murali Vijay

All Rounders

  • 47 Dwayne Bravo
  • 13 Faf du Plessis
  • 81 Albie Morkel
  • 56 Scott Styris
  • — Ganapathi Vignesh


Wicket Keepers

  • 07 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain)
  • 06 Wriddhiman Saha



  • 99 Ravichandran Ashwin
  • 04 Doug Bollinger
  • 27 Shadab Jakati
  • 92 Nuwan Kulasekara
  • 88 Suraj Randiv
  • 23 Joginder Sharma
  • 38 Tim Southee
  • 17 Sudeep Tyagi
  • — Yo Mahesh


  • Coach : Stephen Fleming
  • Captain : Mahendra Singh Dhoni
  • Fielding Coach : Steve Rixon
  • Bowling Coach : Andy Bichel
  • Physical Trainer: Gregory King
  • Physiotherapist : Tommy Simsek
  • Manager : Radha Krishnan


Leave a Reply